New Look ZANU PF Politburo

PRESIDENT Robert Mugabe failed to appoint politburo and presidium members during the sitting of congress last week, deferring the announcement with a few days.


However, Article 8 section 40 of the ZANU PF constitution, which deals with the appointment of politburo members reads: “Soon after the election of the president and the first secretary and members of the central committee, the president and first secretary of the party shall, during the sitting of congress, appoint from the newly elected central committee, two vice presidents and second secretaries, the national chairperson, the heads of departments of the politburo, the committee members of the politburo and the deputies to the heads of department”.

The ZANU PF Politburo is a member body that formulates and decides policy for ZANU PF. President Robert Mugabe, who is the leader of both the country and the party, appoints most of the members of the Politburo.

As was expected, President Mugabe “baby dumped” Joice Mujuru and her close allies effectively ending her presidential ambitions. Some analysts feel that the party is weaker since President Mugabe has now sidelined some influential figures of the party reducing them into card carrying members.

New ZANU PF Politburo line-up

President & 1st Secretary – Robert Mugabe
Vice President & 2nd Secretary – Emmerson Mnangagwa
Vice President & 2nd Secretary – Phekezela Mphoko
Secretary for Administration – Ignatius Chombo
Secretary for the Commissariat is Cde Saviour Kasukuwere,
Secretary for Finance is Obert Mpofu
External Affairs – Simbabrashe Mumbengegwi
National Security – Kembo Mohadi
Transport and Social Welfare – Oppah Muchinguri
Information and Publicity – SK Moyo
Legal Affairs – Patrick Chinamasa
Implementation Economic Empowerment Policy – Mike Bimha
Production and Labour – Josiah D. Hungwe
Health and Child welfare & the Elderly – Cleveria Chizema
Economic Affairs – Christopher Mushohwe
Women’s Affairs – Dr Grace Mugabe
Youth Affairs – Pupurai Togarepi
Education – Joram McDonald Gumbo
Gender and Culture – Thokozile Mathuthu
Disabled – Joshua Malinga
Land Reform and Resettlement – Cain Mathema
Science and Tech – Jonathan Moyo
Business Dev – Sithembiso Nyoni
Environment and Tourism – Prisca Mupfumira
War Veterans – Sydney Sekeramayi

Arts & Entertainment