Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d’Or

Portugal and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or for a fourth time.

Ronaldo was part of teams which won both the European Championships and the Champions League during the 2016/17 season.

Ronaldo played a crucial role as Real beat city rivals Atletico Madrid in May to become European champions for a record-extending 11th time.

Just two months later, Portugal triumphed at Euro 2016 in France to claim a major trophy for the first time, despite Ronaldo being forced off with injury early on in the final.

Ronaldo helped Portugal win Euro 2016 in France
Ronaldo helped Portugal win Euro 2016 in France

Ronaldo has scored 48 goals in 52 appearances club and country during 2016, although he was unable to accept the award in person as he in Japan as Real Madrid prepare to compete in the FIFA Club World Cup.

The last time he won the Ballon d’Or was in 2014, the year it merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year accolade.

The award moves Ronaldo clear of three-time winners Marco van Basten, Michel Platini and the late Johan Cruyff.

Commenting on his triumph, Ronaldo said: “I never thought in my mind to win four times the Golden Ball, so I am so pleased and so happy.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.

“As you can imagine I feel so proud and happy to receive this amazing and beautiful ball, I am so happy.”

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale, who helped drive Wales to the semi-finals of Euro 2016, was voted in sixth place, with Ronaldo then confirmed as overall winner before the rest of the placings were announced.

Messi and Griezmann were eventually confirmed as second and third in the rankings, with Barcelona duo Luis Suarez and Neymar fourth and fifth, respectively.

Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted seventh and eighth respectively
Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted seventh and eighth respectively

Leicester duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted in seventh and eigth, respectively, after helping the Foxes win the Premier League title.

Paul Pogba became the world’s most expensive player when he joined Manchester United from Juventus for £89m in the summer, and the France international placed 14th, one spot behind club team-mate Zlatan Ibrahimovic

West Ham’s French playmaker Dimitri Payet ranked joint 17th.

Share this:

Arts & Entertainment

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.